No results found.
Patrol Fleet
Comm Center During Night Shift
Wisconsin Special Olympics Fundraiser
Sheriff Charewicz
PCDSA Awards College Money

Mike LukasThe Portage County Sheriff's Office provides a high level of service, and has a proud history of serving the people of Portage County since 1842. 

The Sheriff's Office covers over 820 square miles and a population of over 70,000 people within its jurisdiction, which includes 17 towns and 11 incorporated municipalities. The agency operates both the County Jail and Juvenile Detention Facility, along with the County's 911/Dispatch Center, working closely with the City of Stevens Point and Village of Plover Police Departments, as well as state agencies such as the State Patrol and Department of Natural Resources, and over two dozen fire and EMS agencies. 

The Sheriff's Office consists of 104 full-time employees.  48 sworn law enforcement officers, 31 corrections officers, 19 telecommunications professionals, and 6 administrative/support specialists.


Management Staff

Mike Lukas – Sheriff
Daniel Kontos – Chief Deputy/Undersheriff
Dale O’Kray – Captain of Operations
Cory Nelson – Captain of Corrections
Karen Moran – Administrative Services Manager
Denise Schultz – Communications Center Manager
Rocky Bolder – Juvenile Detention Superintendent


The Office of the Sheriff

Constitutional Authority

The Office of Sheriff is created by the Wisconsin Constitution (Article VI, Section 4). It is an elected office in each county with a four year term. Consequently, the Sheriff is a constitutional officer who is the Chief Law Enforcement Officer of the County. The Sheriff’s duties are varied and for the most part are defined in the Wisconsin Statutes. These duties include, enforcing state law and County ordinances, maintaining the peace, running the jail, and serving both criminal and civil process.

Duties of the Sheriff's Office

The Office of Sheriff has certain unique duties, powers, and responsibilities different from other law enforcement agencies. Some of these include:

• Command the law enforcement force of the County.
• Take charge and custody of the Jail and the Juvenile Detention Center.
• Attend upon the Circuit Court and the Court of Appeals.
• Serve or execute all processes, writs, precepts, and legal orders.
• Enforce all orders of the State of Wisconsin relating to explosives.
• Conduct rescues and body recoveries of human beings from the water.
• Enforce municipal ordinances in which the sheriff is under contract.
• Keep the peace and suppress all affrays and unlawful assemblies.
• Call to aid any persons or power of the County the Sheriff deems.
• Oversee the County’s Animal Control Program.
• Request assistance of, and provide assistance to, other agencies..
• Transport prisoners and mentally committed individuals in County custody.
• Calling a posse comitatus.
• Operate the County’s Public Safety Answering Point (9-1-1 Center) and Communications Center (i.e. Dispatch).
• Perform all other duties required of the Sheriff by law.

The Sheriff can, on a case by case basis, assert leadership, control, and direction by reason of his/her superior position as chief law enforcement officer of the County. It is the duty of the local police officers to cooperate. Local law enforcement personnel are subject to the command of the Sheriff even when acting within their municipal boundaries when the Sheriff exercises a call to aid under Wis. Stat. § 59.28(1). The Sheriff has concurrent authority with local law enforcement personnel regardless of municipal boundaries (61 OAG 79).



Video Visitation


2016 Annual Report








Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player QuickTime Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer