Traffic Safety Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Traffic Safety

The Commission

The Portage County Traffic Safety Commission is a statutory committee of Portage County.  It was created to enhance the level of safety on all public roadways in Portage County for all users of those roadways, including pedestrians, bicyclist, motorcyclist, motorist, maintenance workers, and emergency services personnel.



The Commission meets at least quarterly to review traffic accident data from the County and, upon review, the Commission makes recommendations for any corrective action it deems appropriate to the County Board and, where appropriate, to the County Highway Committee, the Wisconsin Department of Transportation and, to any other branch of the local government.

The Commission regularly meets on the first Tuesday of the last month of each quarter (i.e. March, June, September, and December) from 10:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. in the Portage County Sheriff's Office Training Room, 1500 Strongs Avenue, Stevens Point, Wisconsin.  The meetings are open to the public, and citizens are encouraged to attend.  Dates, times, and location may vary, so check the official public listing for the current information and agenda.

Calendar of Events


Click here to find scheduled meetings, agendas, and more.




The membership of the Commission is either specified in state statutes, appointed by the Wisconsin Secretary of Transportation, or appointed by the County executive and confirmed by the County Board.  The current membership is:

Nathan Check, County Highway Commissioner (or designee)
Lieutenant Stephen Retzki, Portage County Sheriff (or designee)
Chief Deputy Daniel Kontos, County Highway Safety Coordinator (Commission Vice President)
Tony Kemnitz, Secretary of Transportation Representative - Highways
Sergeant Rhae Stertz, Secretary of Transportation Representative - Law Enforcement
Bob Bott, Secretary of Transportation Representative - Highway Safety
Mark Krutza, County Representative - Education
Assistant Chief Joe Gemza, County Representative - Medicine
David Ray, County Representative - Law
O. Philip Idsvoog, County Board Chair
Patty Dreier, County Executive
Don Jankowski, Portage County Safety Officer
Assistant Chief Thomas Zenner, Stevens Point Police Department Representative
Scott Rifleman, Portage County Coroner
Sergeant Gina Boettcher, Sheriff's Office Traffic Safety Officer
Lieutenant Michael Morgan, Traffic Incident Management Committee (Commission President)
Jeffrey Schuler, Director, Portage County Planning & Zoning Department
Lieutenant Ryan Fox, Plover Police Department
Joe Brandt, Director, Portage County Emergency Management


Crash Spot Map

By law [§ 83.013(1), Wis. Stats.], the Commission maintains a spot map showing the locations of traffic crashes across Portage County.  The Commission has chosen to utilize Community Maps to display this information for research purposes.  Community Maps provides Wisconsin's local law enforcement and county Traffic Safety Commissions with an online interface for mapping crash data.  Fatal crash locations are mapped from 2001 to the present. Severe injury crashes are mapped from 2012. Crashes are mapped through a combination of manual and automated processing.  Community Maps is hosted at the University of Wisconsin-Madison by the Wisconsin Traffic Operations and Safety (TOPS) Laboratory in collaboration with the Wisconsin Department of Transportation (WisDOT) Bureau of Transportation Safety (BOTS).

Community Maps


Click here to view the crash data spot map.



Previous Commission Meeting Minutes

2014:  March  June  September  December

2015:  March  June  September  December

2016:  March  June  September  December

2017:  March  June  September  December


Contact Us/More Information

For more information, contact the Sheriff's Office at (715) 346-1400 or



Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player QuickTime Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer