Please click here for up-to-date information from the Portage County Public Health Department regarding COVID-19.  Links to Portage County Daily Press Releases and county Health Department Situation Reports can be found in the ‘In The Spotlight’ box below.  If you have general questions regarding COVID-19 call 211.  

Expand/Contract Questions and Answers

  • How do I get a zoning permit?

  • When do I need a permit from Land and Water Conservation?

  • How do I rezone my property?

  • What is cost sharing and what can it be used for?

The Portage County Comprehensive Planning project was completed as part of a larger, county-wide planning project, during the years of 2001 - 2007.

In November of 2000, the Portage County Planning and Zoning Department was successful in receiving a State of Wisconsin planning grant to help fund the creation of County-wide comprehensive plans that would meet the newly enacted State Statute requirements for long range planning (see SS 66.1001). In January 2001, grant funds totaling $504,000 were awarded to Portage County to assist with the project.

Two separate "large area" plans were developed and adopted: the Urban Area Plan which encompasses the City of Stevens Point, Villages of Park Ridge, Plover, and Whiting, and a portion of the unincorporated Towns of Hull, Stockton, Plover, Linwood, and Carson; the Portage County Comprehensive Plan, which includes each of the seventeen unincorporated Towns (Alban, Almond, Amherst, Belmont, Buena Vista, Carson, Dewey, Eau Pleine, Grant, Hull, Lanark, Linwood, New Hope, Pine Grove, Plover, Sharon, and Stockton) and six incorporated rural Villages (Almond, Amherst, Amherst Junction, Junction City, Nelsonville, and Rosholt).

In addition to the large area plans, the project included the adoption of a Comprehensive Plan for each of the County's individual units of government.

Portage County residents may submit a written or electronic request to be added to a list of persons maintained by the Portage County Planning & Zoning Department who wish to receive notice of any proposed adoption or amendment of the County Comprehensive Plan that may affect the allowable use of their own property.  The notice will be sent by 1st class mail.  Requests can be sent to Kristen Johnson at 1462 Strongs Avenue, Stevens Point, WI 54481, or

Please see the links below for each individual plan:

Portage County:

Portage County Comprehensive Plan


Town of Alban Town of Almond Town of Amherst Town of Belmont
Town of Buena Vista Town of Carson Town of Dewey Town of Eau Pleine
Town of Grant Town of Hull Town of Lanark Town of Linwood
Town of New Hope Town of Pine Grove Town of Plover Town of Sharon
Town of Stockton



Village of Almond Village of Amherst Village of Amherst Junction
Village of Junction City Village of Nelsonville Village of Park Ridge
Village of Plover Village of Rosholt Village of Whiting

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer