Who Needs This Class?
The Sheriff's Office recommends that everyone who plans on operating a snowmobile or ATV/UTV take this course. However, some people are required to have it before operation.
Born on or after January 1st, 1985? Then you need to successfully complete an approved Snowmobile Safety Course before riding on public lands. Wisconsin law allows only those 16 years of age or older to take this online course.
Born after January 1st, 1988? Then you need to successfully complete an approved Wisconsin ATV Safety Course before riding on public lands.
This official Department of Natural Resources training program is taught by certified sheriff's deputies and other highly skilled volunteers. It will give you the fundamentals on safe and legal operation of snowmobiles and all terrain vehicles.
The Portage County Sheriff’s Office offers a Snowmobile & ATV combined safety course. Classes run from 4:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m., and are be held at the Portage County Sheriff’s Office Training Room, 1500 Strongs Avenue, Stevens Point, Wisconsin.
The course cost is $20.00 and is open to Snowmobile and ATV operators 12 years of age and older. The fee will be collected at the first class. The state requires anyone born on or after January 1, 1985 to hold a valid Snowmobile Safety Certificate to operate and anyone born on or after January 1, 1988 to hold a valid ATV Safety Certificate.
Date: December 8, 10, 15, 17 Time: 7 am - 4 pm Location: Portage County Sheriff's Office, Training Room
Register at https://gowild.wi.go
Click here for a list of all the currently scheduled Classes and Events at the Sheriff's Office.
Register for Class
To register for this class go to https://gowild.wi.go
For More Information/Contact Us
Any questions call the Portage County Sheriff’s Office at (715) 346-1443.